Washington Pilots Association Spokane Chapter 

Monthly Meeting 

 Lt Col. Matt Dean, Instructor Pilot, KC-135 and Capt. Erol Asu, Fairchild AFB Safety Office.

The Fairchild Safety office is responsible for the safe flight operations of more than 50 KC-135, RC-26, and UH-72 aircraft assigned to the base.  The mission of the Safety Team is safeguarding airmen, protecting resources and preserving combat readiness.  This is accomplished through mishap investigation, promotion of safety “Just Culture”, and education of our operators and outreach to local pilots.  The presentation is intended to give your members an update on day-to-day operations at FAFB and the local flying area and also to hear feedback from the WPA on any issues they feel are relevant to flying in proximity to the base.

WINGS credit is available

Darcy’s, 17 April,  6:00 PM


Future Events

WPA Spokane is facilitating a tour of the Hanford B Reactor on Saturday, 25 May, 11:45, tour 54. This is a very important part of our nation’s history. This is part of the National Park Service and is free. I did the tour a year ago and found it fascinating. But then I am a geek / history buff. If you want to go YOU MUST SIGN UP on the website: https://manhattanprojectbreactor.hanford.gov. Read ALL the information on the website. For those that want to fly, go to Sundance Aviation in Richland. Let me know if you are flying and I will try to arrange ground transportation. The visitor’s center is about a 7 minute drive. If you are driving please try to car pool and we will see you there.
Dave Lucke 509 994-0323 Dave@BSCENGR.com


Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it. 


Meetings are normally held the third Wednesday of every month at:

Darcy’s, 10502 E Sprague, Spokane Valley
6:00 PM

Board meetings are the 1st Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at Parkwater Aviation.  Check the Chapter Calendar.



Enroute to Felts Field (KSFF) for Neighbor Day

Chapter Leaders

President: Roger Bertsch

President Elect: Jon Weber

Treasurer: Dave Lucke



Secretary:   OPEN


John Miller

CJ Amestoy

Tom Morris

Donna Childs

Past President:

Mike Foster

If you have not renewed your membership for 2019 you can do so at any general meeting with cash or check.  You can also go online to www.wpaflys.org, and click the “MEMBERSHIP” tab and renew your membership there by credit card.